Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Come Full Circle

Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats
Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats
Stax/Concord, 2015
produced by Richard Swift

Nathaniel Rateliff - guitars, vocals
the Night Sweats:
  • Joseph Pope III - guitars
  • Mark Shusterman - keyboards
  • Patrick Meese - drums
  • Luke Mossman - guitars
  • Wesley Watkins - horns
  • Andy Wild - saxophones
singles -
  • SOB
  • Look it Here
There has been much hand ringing and bell tolling for the death of rock n roll. Even though it may seem like certain genres like metal, punk, glam rock (thank goodness), and whatever it is that Nickleback is responsible for are indeed dying, I believe that rock music has just changed direction once again. The music from this band is a throwback to those early rock n roll groups of the late 50s.  Buddy Holly was not the death of music. Also, I love a good horn section. Harriet Gibson from the Guardian pointed out the "ghosts of Otis Redding and Chuck Berry" are apparent in these pieces. I enjoy this record so much, it is as fresh as it is nostalgic.

No comments:

Post a Comment